The Sacred Valley & Cuzco – Peru

Coming Next…The Inca Trail & Machu Picchu. Tomorrow I will wake up at the ridiculously early hour of 4am and commence the first day of the 4 day Inca trail which culminates in the grand finale…Machu Picchu! Wahey!

I am taking the bare minimum on the four day trek – we will have porters to carry our food and tents, as well as a chef and a cook. Nice! But I will have to carry my own sleeping bag! (not so nice). I have stocked up on chocolates and energy bars (6 snickers, 6 packs of ‘Nature Valley’ Granola bars, a Twix, some cereal biscuits, 3 Nutri bars, some Coca sweets for the altitude, and a Starburst) –  and yes don’t worry my camera batteries are fully charged. My torch is also ready (with spare battery) – useful for middle of the night bathroom emergencies. I will take along some roll on deodorant as there are no showers – except those from heaven. But since we will all be smelling it probably won’t matter.

What else? I’m leaving my Kindle behind (obviously), but am contemplating taking my Ipod along. And no, I am leaving my brown leather jacket behind…but I am taking along my famous Bolivian hat for those famous head shots of mine…and the machete for hacking through dense jungle foliage. I have anti-snake venom too…just in case.

The first day of the Trek is supposed to be 13 Km and mainly flat trekking – therefore easiest. The second day is the hardest at 19Km and uphill to a maximum altitude of 4,200 metres. From the 3rd day onward’s its pretty much downhill (not good for the knee-caps so I have rented some walking poles!).  On the 4th day we wake up stupid early and head towards the gates of Machu Picchu, to arrive there at sunrise (hopefully before the tourists so I can take unadulterated shots without people in them). We then spend the first few hours with the tour guide, and then have the rest of the day off to potter about. I won’t be returning to Cuzco on the 4th day, but will instead spend the night at ‘Calientes’ (Machu Picchu town) and return to Machu Picchu the following day. Why? Why not! I have the time and besides I wish to soak it all in – at my own pace. Get all spiritual with the lost city of the Inca’s.

Will report back my findings, wuevons!

Watch out for the snakes!

Leave a Reply

