Summer Girls

You taunt me

I am drunk with the blood

that flows,

blue,

beneath your white,

rose-tinted skin


I blush red,

at your merest glance,

reading entire novels,

in the language,

of your

fearful motions


The sound

of your heels,

parts the street,

like Moses,

parting the waves,

I take cover


The sun dances,

a frenzied circle,

around your,

red-white patterned dress,

disturbing my peace


Your thoughts sheltered,

behind unfeeling eyes,

and inscrutable

sunglasses,

offer nothing in return,

for my kind attentions


There is no mystery

in you,

I pretend to myself,

You don’t touch

me, I lie,

Life is pretending,

and I am the greatest,

pretender

 

Leave a Reply

