If I had a child

If I had a child – my own child, I would:

Never, ever, say to it “This is who you are” or “This is who you will become”

I would say: “Find yourself in the world. Find who you are and where you belong”

if I had a child.

 

if I had a child, my own child, I would teach it:

“You have a brain. Use it! Do not listen to others because they are Authority

Do not listen to others because it has been Revealed to them

Do not listen because it has always been so since the ages,

You have a brain my daughter, use it”

if I had a child.

 

If I had a child, my own child, I would teach it:

Everything I know. Chemistry, Biology, Physics and Cosmology

and History and Geology and Philosophy and comparative religion

And so much more. I would infect her, not with dogmatism, but with the virus of

curiosity. That would be my gift – and then I would say: “Go! Find yourself

You are free to be who you want to be”

If I had a child.

 

If I had a child, my own child – I would:

Teach him to respect, but also to question. To not be afraid to ask

the difficult questions. To be confident in his own thoughts, to believe

that the questions he has in his mind – are not stupid,

If I had a child.

 

If I had a child, my own child – I would:

Travel the world with her. Make her see that there are different opinions,

different people’s, different ways of looking – to teach her empathy,

and how to step into the shoes, of another,

If I had a child.

 

If I had a child, my own child – I would:

Not addle his brain with superstitious certainties, but fill it with the

spark of excited uncertainties and probabilities. To not seek certainty,

but to seek only possibilities – in a world – of inexplicable mysteries,

If I had a child.

 

if I had a child, my own child – I would:

Teach her to be confident, by giving her confidence in herself.

By never ever telling her she is not good enough. Always

tell her she can do it. You praise her good works, and keep the negative at bay.

If I had a child.

 

If I had a child, my own child – I would:

Show her not to be afraid of love. Show her how to love, in a way

that doesn’t hurt. Show her the majesty of what she is,

in a universe of many majesties. I won’t be around forever –

I am here for a short while, just passing, just visiting this life,

a traveller who knows, nothing ever lasts,

but is grateful still.

 

Leave a Reply

